Get Back to Living
As a no-fault state, residents of FL have the right to receive adequate medical care. Also, if the accident was not your fault, your auto insurer cannot raise your insurance rate when you receive medical treatment.
In the event you are involved in an accident, contact us immediately so you can be fully informed of your rights and benefits. We can help you find the best Specialists in the area so that you can begin your recovery.
Many people hit their heads, or suffer brain injuries in automobile accidents, and don’t realize that they are injured.
Our office is geared to handle your injury evaluation and management on a Walk In or Appointment basis.
YOUR ACCIDENT IS WORTH MORE THAN YOU THINK
$10,000 for Anyone Involved in a Car Accident ?
Another advantage of our state law is that it makes it easy to work with a skilled physical therapist Drivers can seek medical care for only 14 days from the date of their accident. The law also stipulates that you be entitled to at least $10,000 for treatments following an auto accident, if you qualify for benefits. Restrictions apply.
The state of Florida is known as a “no fault” state for automobile accidents. This means if you are in an auto accident in Florida, regardless of who is at fault for the collision, you first look to your own automobile insurer to pay a portion (up to $10,000) of your medical expenses and wage loss under your PIP (Personal Injury Protection) coverage for any injuries you received in the accident. This coverage protects you against losses you sustain as a result of personal injuries from an automobile accident and pays 80% of reasonable, necessary, and related medical expenses, as well as, 60% of your gross wage loss resulting from your accident-related injuries and mileage costs for transportation to and from doctor appointments.
The only way you can become eligible for any direct PIP cash is if your doctor states that you are unable to work, and even then, you will only get 60% of your lost wages. If you can’t work, that means that you are probably really hurt and will need this PIP money to help pay your medical bills
After the $10K is exhausted,you may have the right to recover your damages from the other driver. If the negligent driver has insurance you can recover your medical expenses and lost wages and, if you meet the threshold requirements of Florida Statute 627.737 which include a permanent injury, significant scarring or death, you can pursue a claim for your pain and suffering.
If you have any questions regarding Personal Injury Protection Insurance, or have recently been injured in a car accident, feel free to call our office to address any concerns you may have at 305.266.1945